Nintendo's Wii U and 3DS Social Service, Miiverse, Is Shutting Down Soon

150

One of Nintendo’s ageing Wii U and 3DS online services, Miiverse, is going offline soon. Nintendo has announced that the service will be taken offline on November 8 at 3 PM in Japan, which comes out to 4 PM in Sydney and 11 PM PT the day prior in America.

Nintendo announced the shutdown on its website today (via Daniel Feit on Twitter). A lot of games are affected, including Super Smash Bros., Mario Party 10, and Mario Kart 8. You can see a full list of affected titles here.

Additionally, Nintendo’s Wii U TV streaming functionality, Tvii, is also closing on November 8, along with Wii U Chat.

Nintendo made efforts to improve and expand the Miiverse’s functionality and accessibility since the Wii U debuted in 2012. Examples including adding support for mobile devices and browsers and a bigger overhaul in summer 2015.

With Nintendo’s next major online service set to premiere in 2018, it was always likely to be the case that Miiverse wouldn’t be supported forever. The Nintendo Switch online service will cost $ 4 per month or $ 30 per year. Currently, it is free.

In July, dataminers found references to a forthcoming Miiverse shutdown, so today’s announcement, though unfortunate for those enjoying it, is not a total surprise.

  View Comments (1)

Let’s block ads! (Why?)

GameSpot News

Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.

Subscribe to our newsletter
Sign up here to get the latest news, updates and special offers delivered directly to your inbox.
You can unsubscribe at any time
You might also like

Leave A Reply

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More